52-58 Woodford Street, Newtown, Port of Spain.

Article Index


Section 110 of the Constitution provides that the members of the Judicial and Legal Service Commission shall be:

a)    The Chief Justice who shall be the Chairman
b)    The Chairman of the Public Service Commission (ex-officio member)
c)    Such other members as may be appointed by the president, after consultation with the Prime Minister and the Leader of the Opposition- 
       -    one (1) from among persons who hold or have held office as a judge of a court having unlimited jurisdiction in civil and criminal matters in some part of the         Commonwealth or a court having jurisdiction in appeals from any such court; and
       -    two (2) from among persons with legal qualifications, at least one of whom is not in active practice as such, after the President has consulted with such         organizations, if any, as he thinks fit.

The members at c) are usually appointed for three year terms.

The membership of the Judicial and Legal Service Commission comprises:
The Honourable, The Chief Justice Mr. Justice Ivor Archie  - Chairman

Mr. Winston Rudder  - Member & Chairman, Public Service Commission

Mr. Elton Prescott, SC  - Member

Madam Justice Charmaine Pemberton  - Member

Dr. Albert Persaud  - Member

Thought Leadership Series


52-58 Woodford Street, Newtown, Port of Spain.

(868) 623-2991/7

DFL Building, #10 Cipriani Boulevard, Newtown, Port of Spain.

(868) 623-2711

99A Pasea Main Road, Tunapuna 330839.

(868) 612-0062

 41 A Wilson Road, Scarborough, Tobago.

(868) 639-5018/639-4949