52-58 Woodford Street, Newtown, Port of Spain.

Article Index

The Teaching Service Commission (TSC) was established under the Constitution of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago (Section 124) and is charged with the responsibility under Section 125 as follows:

Subject to the provisions of this Constitution, power to appoint persons to hold or act in public offices in the Teaching Service established under the Education Act, including power to make appointments on promotions and transfer and to confirm appointments, and to remove and exercise disciplinary control over persons holding or acting in such offices and to enforce standards of conduct on such officers shall vest in the Teaching Service Commission.

The members of the Commission are appointed for a three-year term by the President of the Republic, after consultation with the Prime Minister and Leader of Opposition.  The current members of the Commission are:

Mrs. Elizabeth Crouch               - Chairman

Dr. Martha Des Vignes               - Member

Mrs. Vidyawatee Lalla-Ramsammy  - Member

Mrs. Clair Brathwaite-Alexander - Member 

Mr. Inshan Mohamed               - Member

The Director of Personnel Administration (DPA) and the Teaching Service Secretariat provide administrative and advisory services (in particular, legal and regulatory services) which enables the TSC to effective discharge its mandate.

The constitutional mandate of the TSC – appointing, promoting, transferring, confirming appointments, and exercising disciplinary control over the officers with the Teaching Service – are core human resource management functions.  In this regard, it is to be noted that authority and responsibility for discharging many aspects of these functions reside in diverse agencies of the Public Service.  In its 2011 – 2015 Strategic Plan, the Commission has placed specific emphasis on strengthening its relationships with relevant agencies and stakeholder groups – through both formal and informal mechanisms – as a key strategy for improving the effectiveness and the efficiency of its operations.




Mrs. Elizabeth Crouch is an educator with forty-eight (48) years of working experience in education with twenty-eight (28) of those as working experience as Principal at both the primary and secondary levels. She is a former Principal of St Joseph Convent, POS. Mrs. Crouch was awarded the TT Public Service Medal of Merit (Gold) 2007 and the Excellence in Education Award, Ministry of Education 2012.

She is a graduate of Hollins College, USA, with a B.A (Honors) History; the UWI with a Diploma in Education and the University of Toronto, with a Masters in Education.




Dr. Martha Des Vignes, an attorney-at-law, has been an educator in higher education for 21 years. She is the current Course Director for Civil Procedure and Practice I at the Hugh Wooding Law School and a member of the Mediation Board of Trinidad and Tobago. 

Dr. Des Vignes is graduate of Nova Southeastern University, Florida and holds a Doctoral Degree in Conflict Analysis and Resolution. 



Mrs. Vidyawatee Lalla – Ramsammy is a former Principal of the Couva South Government Primary School, in which she served for over fifteen (15) years. She was sworn in on November 17th 2022 as a member of the Teaching Service Commission by Her Excellency Paula-Mae Weekes, President of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago. Mrs. Lalla-Ramsammy is the holder of a Bachelor of Education Degree, (First Class Honours) in Educational Administration and a Certificate in Education from the University of the West Indies. She has over four (4) decades of working experience in Education and also served as a Local School Board member and educational administrator. She possesses competencies in data driven decision-making in development, implementation and execution of performance-enhancing programmes.



Mrs. Claire Brathwaite-Alexander is a past Principal of Bishop's High School, Tobago and Assistant Education Coordinator, School Supervision Division of Education, Innovation & Energy. She is a graduate of The University of Western Ontario with a Masters in Education and the UWI with Post Graduate Diplomas in Education and Library Science and a B.A in English. 




Mr. Inshan Mohammed is a current Chairman and executive member of several ASJA committees. He is a former tutor of The University of the West Indies (UWI), Department of Economics.  Mr. Mohammed holds a MSc. Degree in Economics from the UWI. 












Click here to view TSC Annual Report 2021 ❯


Click here to view TSC Annual Report 2020 ❯ Click here to view TSC Annual Report 2011 ❯





Thought Leadership Series


52-58 Woodford Street, Newtown, Port of Spain.

(868) 623-2991/7

DFL Building, #10 Cipriani Boulevard, Newtown, Port of Spain.

(868) 623-2711

99A Pasea Main Road, Tunapuna 330839.

(868) 612-0062

 41 A Wilson Road, Scarborough, Tobago.

(868) 639-5018/639-4949